Smith County residents able to purchase fireworks for Memorial Day celebrations


For Memorial Day celebrations across Smith County, residents will be able to purchase fireworks thanks to an order recently approved by the Smith County Commissioners Court.

During the court’s regularly scheduled meeting held Tuesday, May 9, Smith County Commissioners voted to approve an order authorizing fireworks sales between Thursday, May 25 and Tuesday, May 30.

According to Casey Murphy, Smith County Public Information Officer, the 84th Texas Legislature passed House Bill 1150, authorizing three additional periods that fireworks may be sold to the public as long as the Commissioners Courts in each county issues an order authorizing such sales each year.

The three additional holidays, also approved in Smith County last year, include Texas Independence Day on March 2; San Jacinto Day on April 21; and Memorial Day on May 29.

Smith County Fire Marshal Connie McCoy-Wasson said Smith County residents are allowed to pop fireworks throughout the year, and are only restricted on when they can buy them.

Before the three additional holidays were approved last year, fireworks could only be bought and sold for New Year’s and Independence Day.

For more information, visit


Special Sections