Commissioners approve fireworks for Texas Independence Day


Smith County residents will be able to celebrate Texas Independence Day with fireworks again this year.

On Tuesday, Feb. 7, Smith County Commissioners voted to approve an order authorizing fireworks sales from Saturday, Feb. 25 through 12 a.m. Thursday, March 2.

The 84th Texas Legislature passed House Bill 1150, authorizing three additional periods that fireworks may be sold to the public as long as the Commissioners Courts in each county issues an order authorizing such sales each year.

The three additional holidays, which were also approved in Smith County last year, are Texas Independence Day, celebrated Thursday, March 2; San Jacinto Day on Friday, April 21; and Memorial Day on Monday, May 29.

Smith County Fire Marshal Connie McCoy-Wasson said she sees no reason for the court not to approve fireworks sales at this time. She reported to commissioners that the Keetch-Byram Drought Index, used to determine forest fire potential, is extremely low.

The Commissioners Court could consider approving fireworks sales for San Jacinto Day and Memorial Day at future meetings.